Developing a Community Garden Program

Four-Hour Online Course - Register Now!

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Eileen Horn is the Sustainability Coordinator for Douglas County and the City of Lawrence, Kan. In that role, she coordinates the city and county initiatives in energy efficiency, renewable energy, waste reduction/recycling, and local food.

Alfred N. E. Hall is co-founder and executive director of Hamilton Urban Garden Systems (HUGS), a non-profit formed in 2012 dedicated to building a local food system in Hamilton, Ohio.

Posted: Tuesday, November 7, 2017 11:30 am | Updated: 7:13 pm, Wed Nov 8, 2017.

This four-hour online course Dec. 5 and 6 will teach organizers how to plan, develop and implement a successful community garden program in rural or urban settings.

Presented in 2-hour webinar sessions, this course will teach registrants how to establish, maintain and sustain a community garden program. In the first session, Alfred Hall, co-founder and executive director of Hamilton Urban Garden Systems (HUGS), a non-profit in Hamilton, Ohio, will help you communicate the benefits of community gardens and teach you how to organize the planning and management of a successful program, choose the right locations and prepare your garden sites, sustain and grow funding, promote and recruit gardeners and gradually increase your community's garden footprint.

During the second session, Eileen Horn, long-time sustainability coordinator for Douglas County, Kan., will step attendees through the policy side of setting up a program, including contracts, leases, codes, insurance, water access and other considerations.

Click here to register and/or learn more about the course.

All class sessions begin promptly at 10 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Mountain, Noon Central and 1 p.m. Eastern, but each session will be recorded on video, so if you have to miss a live session, you'll have access to the recording on the following day and for 30 days thereafter.

More about

More about

Online Poll

Loading…