In June of 2013, the Seattle City Council voted unanimously to adopt the Seattle Climate Action Plan. Three years in the making, the 92-page plan outlines hundreds of actions the city must take to become carbon neutral by 2050 and prepare itself for the likely effects of climate change.

This free, one-hour webinar, sponsored by Crescent Electric Supply Company, will feature Jill Simmons, director of Seattle's Office of Sustainability & Environment. Ms. Simmons will discuss the Climate Action Plan and other sustainability initiatives the city has embarked upon.

Seattle’s Climate Action Plan calls for a reduction in greenhouse gas emissions, primarily through changes in transportation, land use, building energy and solid waste management. The city’s municipal electric utility, which gets 90 percent of its energy from hydroelectric power, has been carbon neutral since 2005. But, the rivers that generate that power are fed by melting snow in the surrounding mountains, and that source of energy is gradually diminishing as a result of climate change.

As the mountain glaciers melt, the level of the sea rises, presenting another challenge for this coastal city to overcome. This presentation will explain how they plan to do it.

Register now to attend this live webinar on Tuesday, Feb. 25, beginning at 10 a.m. Pacific Time (11 a.m. Mountain, noon Central and 1 p.m. Eastern).

tags , , , cost
See description for cost information.
details
Website: https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/925006510
venue information

Online Course

,

Welcome to the discussion.