Six City Programs Honored for Promoting Cultural Diversity

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Monday, March 7, 2016 9:43 pm | Updated: 9:49 pm, Mon Mar 7, 2016.

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The National League of Cities recognized seven cities for implementing programs that enhance and promote cultural diversity in their communities. Presented at the "Celebrate Diversity Breakfast" at the 2016 Congressional City Conference in Washington, the City Cultural Diversity Awards recognize municipal programs that encourage citizen involvement and honor cities that develop creative and effective programs designed to improve and promote cultural diversity through a collaborative process with city officials, community leaders and residents.

Cities honored for 2016 are: San Antonio, Texas; Austin, Texas; Grand Prairie, Texas; Wichita, Kan.; Dubuque, Iowa; and Avondale, Ariz.

The City Cultural Diversity Awards Program was established in 1995 by the National Black Caucus of Local Elected officials to promote cultural diversity in community governance through citizen and community participation. Winning cities are selected by guest judges representative of NLC's constituency groups and are grouped according to population.

The annual awards are presented at the Celebrate Diversity Breakfast, which is co-sponsored by the five constituency groups: Asian Pacific American Municipal Officials; Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Local Officials; Hispanic Elected Local Officials; the National Black Caucus of Local Elected Officials and Women in Municipal Government. Henry Cisneros, former U.S. Housing and Urban Development secretary and former mayor of San Antonio, addressed the attendees.

SOURCE: National League of Cities

More about

More about

More about

Online Poll